Good enough to publish?

I totally agree, Eric. I have readers looking forward to my next book after reading the first three. Had I not self-published they would not have been able to read the first three stories I wrote. It is simple arrogance that causes someone to make a statement like the one you quoted.

Eric's blog

shakespeare

I recently read a rather unpleasant comment to a blog post about self-publishing. The gist of the comment was if a publisher will not publish your work then it is not good enough to publish so don’t. Apart from the tone was very rude and condescending I thought the post showed his ignorance about how publishing worked.

I’m sure we have all read the articles about how great authors had numerous rejections, some being told to give up writing. The truth of the matter is, like the rest of us a publisher is human with their own prejudices and preferences then are not the arbiter of what is good or worthy they are simply looking for commercial. Even then they are taking an educated guess on what will sell. I don’t like romance novels as a rule however there is no denying their popularity. Even the author of 50 shades…

View original post 157 more words

One thought on “Good enough to publish?

Leave a Reply

